I've noticed that for some reason people like to be single in summer, but have someone in winter. Probably saves on heating bills. But I'm here to tell you that you don't need to man/woman for the holidays, being single is just as good.
1. SAVE ON PRESENTS - you don't have to buy presents for that special someone. You don't even have to think about buying presents for them. You don't have spend ages trying to guess what they want, or think about if you're even doing presents, nor how much you should spend on them.
2. YOU CAN KISS WHO YOU LIKE - waiting around the mistletoe is something that has to be done. You have the mystery of not knowing who you'll bump into under there. Plus, when the clock strikes twelve at midnight on new years eve you can kiss whoever you would like, within reason of course.
![]() |
| Throw on some tinsel & sequins and enjoy yourself |
3. NO AWKWARD FAMILY MEETINGS - you don't have to hang around awkwardly at your boyfriend/girlfriend's house whilst all of their family gather and exchange presents. You don't have to make small talk with people that you've never met before, or just sit there silently like an extra piece to a jigsaw puzzle whilst they go through their Christmas traditions.
4. YOU CAN SPEND TIME WITH YOUR OWN FAMILY - Christmas is a time for family and now you can spend some quality time with your family, on your own. You can play some board games and stuff your face with Christmas food without having to play host to someone the entire time and having to make sure that they're entertained. Plus, you don't miss out on time with them, because you can stay at home the entire time.
5. YOU CAN BE SELFISH - you don't have to share your chocolates with anyone. Or your presents.
6. ALONE TIME IS GOOD TIME - if there's any-time to be alone, Christmas is the best time. Christmas isn't exactly a lonely time, so being single at Christmas isn't too bad. In fact, it's probably the best time for you to be single. You can keep yourself busy, and surround yourself with friends and family, plus it's acceptable for you to stuff your face and eat an entire terry's chocolate orange in an hour.
